FSU QB, Jameis Winston, named Davey O'Brien Quarterback of the Week

Davey O’Brien Foundation
Monday, October 21, 2013 - 1:51pm

Florida State's Jameis Winston has been named the Davey O'Brien Quarterback of the Week for the third time this season after leading the fifth-ranked Seminoles to a stunning 51-14 road victory over No. 3 Clemson.

Winston completed 22-of-34 passes for a career-high 444 yards and three touchdowns and rushed for a fourth score in a game the Seminoles controlled from start to finish. Winston previously earned Davey O'Brien Quarterback of the Week honors this season in Week 1 (vs. Pittsburgh) and Week 6 (vs. Maryland).

"I'm very proud of him," Florida State head coach Jimbo Fisher said following the game. "The guy is a competitor."

Winston and the Seminoles return home next weekend to face North Carolina State on October 26.

Honorable Mention for Week Eight:

  • Taysom Hill, BYU, Independent
  • Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois, MAC
  • Sean Mannion, Oregon State, Pac-12
  • Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, SEC
  • Marcus Mariota, Oregon, Pac-12
  • Nick Marshall, Auburn, SEC
  • Maty Mauk, Missouri, SEC
  • Bryce Petty, Baylor, Big 12

During the first nine weeks of the season, a subset of the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee will name a Davey O'Brien Quarterback of the Week. All 125 FBS quarterbacks are candidates for the award until semifinalists are announced on November 4. Finalists will be announced November 25 and the 2013 Davey O'Brien Winner will be announced on December 12.

About the Davey O'Brien Fan Vote:

Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation's best college quarterback as often as once daily at www.VoteOBrien.org. The Fan Vote counts as five percent during each round of the voting process, and is combined with the results from the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. The 2013 Davey O'Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards airing December 12 on ESPN and will be honored at the 37th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner on February 16-17, 2014 in Fort Worth, Texas.

About the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award®:

The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O'Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The award is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away nearly $900,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.



Comments News Comments

Post new Comment