East Texas Coaches Association to honor 8 at annual banquet

East Texas Coaches Association
Wednesday, February 19, 2014 - 11:04am

On Saturday, prominent football figures out of the East Texas area will venture to Texarkana to be inducted into the East Texas Coaches Association Hall of Honor.

Officials from the ETCA announced on January 9, 2014, the eight exceptional individuals, representing the sport of football, who will be honored during the 2014 ETCA Hall of Honor banquet.

Hall of Honor inductees include:

  • Coach Dennis Alexander - Head Football Coach & Athletic Director, Troup High School
  • Coach Bill Harper - Retired Head Football Coach & Athletic Director, Marshall High School
  • Coach Sid Harpe - Retired Assistant Football Coach, Marshall High School
  • Coach Mike Owens - Retired Football Coach, Robert E. Lee High School

Hall of Honor inductees to be awarded posthumously are:

  • Coach James Cameron - Former Head Coach & Athletic Director, Sulphur Springs High School
  • Coach John Outlaw - Former Head Coach & Athletic Director, Lufkin High School.

Other honorees include:

  • David Smoak- Distinguished Service Award (Program Director, Sports Director & Talk Show Host for ESPN Central Texas)
  • John Teague - Officials Hall of Honor inductee (High School Official, East Texas & Colleges in TX, LA, MS, AR)

The East Texas Coaches Association supports coaches, parents and student athletes through the promotion of football in East Texas; professional development for coaches; provision of scholarships and financial aid to coaches in times of personal tragedy.

The ETCA Hall of Honor Banquet will be held on Saturday, February 22, at 6:00 p.m., at the Texarkana Country Club in Texarkana. The event is open to the public and tickets are available for $25 per person.

For more information contact Starr Thompson at 903.793.7731 ext. 57001.


Comments News Comments

Post new Comment