2012 Tyler ISD Teachers of the Year

Wanda Wilson
Wednesday, May 9, 2012 - 1:18pm

Tyler – Tyler ISD announced the 2012 Teachers of the Year at the annual Teacher of the Year Banquet held Tuesday, May 8, 2012, at the Harvey Convention Center in Tyler. The district honored Campus Teachers of the Year before naming District Teachers of the Year: W. A. Peete Elementary School Third Grade Teacher Wanda Wilson, Elementary Teacher of the Year; and Robert E. Lee High School Biology Teacher and Coach David Howard, Secondary Teacher of the Year.

To celebrate the dedication of Tyler ISD’s outstanding team of teachers, the theme of this year’s Teacher of the Year Banquet was “Tyler ISD’s Galaxy of Stars: Our Teachers Light the Way.”
With more than 16 years of teaching experience, Mrs. Wilson’s goal is to prepare students for the future.

“It is my goal to foster students’ critical thinking skills, facilitate the acquisition of life-long learning skills, and prepare them to be competitive in today’s society,” Mrs. Wilson said. “Loving kids unconditionally helps them realize they are not defined by their circumstances and to seek and seize opportunities, strategies, and solutions that will assist and encourage an inward transformation of their self-worth.”

Coach Howard has spent the past 10 years teaching in Tyler ISD, and says that all the great teachers in his life taught him right from wrong while caring about him as a person.

“I have been blessed with amazing people in my life that showed me the value of education,” Coach Howard said. “Education can be the key to open many doors in a person’s life and I consider it a privilege to play that role in the process.”

Thirty teachers were named Campus Teachers of the Year. Criteria for selection of both the campus Teachers of the Year and the District Teachers of the Year included, among other items: playing an active and useful role in their community, commitment to the teaching profession through continuous improvement, and lessons that creatively engage and inspire students to
achieve high academic standards.

More than 450 guests attended the banquet, including Tyler ISD staff, administrators, teachers, sponsors and members of the community. The event was made possible by a grant from the Tyler ISD Foundation. The District winners will compete at the regional level this summer.

Campus Teacher
T. J. Austin Elementary School Rhona Meads
Bell Elementary Global Communications Academy Kelly England
Birdwell Elementary School Thomas Matteucci
Bonner Elementary School George Brigman
Boshears Center for Exceptional Programs Lawren Phillips
Caldwell Elementary Arts Academy Beth Lockhart
Clarkston Elementary School Anna Dickey
Dixie Elementary School Natasha Balfour
Douglas Elementary School Camille Becton
Griffin Elementary School Ashley Rayner
Dr. Bryan C. Jack Elementary School Thurndotte Ray
Jones Elementary MST Academy Sandra Ferris
A. W. Orr Elementary School James Westwood
Owens Elementary School Mary Rouquette
W. A. Peete Elementary School Wanda Wilson
Ramey Elementary School Brenda Evans
Rice Elementary School Jennifer Thrasher
St. Louis Early Childhood Center Alicia Guajardo
TARGET Patricia Cooper
Andy Woods Elementary School Becky Tillson
Boulter Middle School Christie O’Neal
Dogan Middle School Satoya Dodd
James S. Hogg Middle School Leah Huffstetter
Hubbard Middle School Jacob Payne
Robert E. Lee High School David Howard
Moore MST Magnet School Christopher Rasure
PACE Joshua Graves
Plyler Instructional Complex Pennie McKeller
Stewart Middle School Mary McGough-Skinner
John Tyler High School Laura Berns


Comments News Comments

Post new Comment