Candidates Line up for Leadership Positions in Area Towns and Schools

Friday, March 16, 2012 - 1:20pm

Monday was the filing deadline for candidates who wish to be elected in November to help run the townships and school districts in Van Zandt County. The deadline for filing for county and state elections was extended to March 12, but even that date is now in question due to the ongoing redistricting fight between the two major political parties in Texas.

None of this area’s three towns will require a school board election because there are no contested positions.

Grand Saline city election ballots will show three City Council positions for election: Amy Daniels, Sammy Jones and Rex White.

Challenging them for the at-large positions are Robert Elder and Ridge Tardy.

Grand Saline Independent School District will not hold an election because incumbents Mike Blake and Eddie Paul Johnson are unopposed, and Kyle Curry is the only candidate for the position Sharon Slayden has held. She is not running for re-election.

To read the full article click here.

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment